RSS

Fiction: Time to Start (283 words)

18 May

“So, I think we’re ready,” Reinette smiled.

“Are you sure?  Like, sure you’re sure? Because this is a big deal, and if we start, it’s not like we can just decide to stop again.” Phillip looked nervous, but Reinette knew he was ready.  Besides, if they waited until they weren’t nervous about this–well, they would be waiting forever, because she was pretty sure that they would be nervous for the rest of their lives.

“Phillip, I have a very serious question for you. And you need to answer me one hundred percent honestly.”

Phillip swallowed hard. “Okay. Hit me.”

“Do you want to have a baby with me? Do you want to start our family?”

If there had been even a second’s hesitation, then Reinette would have called the whole thing off, and she’d try again next year. But he didn’t hesitate.  He smiled and nodded.  “I think that you would make a wonderful mother, and if you’re sure you’re ready for this, then I want to start a family with you.”

Reinette couldn’t explain how happy she was in that moment. She had a feeling it was only going to get better from here.  “Okay.  I’ll make an appointment with the doctor this week, and we’ll see when the best time to start trying is.”

Phillip leaned in and kissed her softly. “Well, in the meantime, do you think could get some practice?”  He whispered huskily.

Reinette tried to hide her smile, and pretend like the whole thing was such a burden for her. Phillip could see right through her though, and she knew it. “I suppose we can do that.  I didn’t have anything better to do with my evening anyway.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 18, 2016 in Stories

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
