RSS

Fiction: Planning Ahead (263 words)

14 May

Phillip came in with that look on his face, and Reinette immediately stuck her fingers in her ears.  “No, no, no. I don’t want to talk about it.”

Phillip gave his wife a sad smile, and pulled her arms down gently. “We have to talk about it.  We have to plan for the ‘What ifs.’”

Reinette wrinkled her nose.  “It’s too soon to worry about this.  Can’t we just celebrate the fact that you are healthy?”

Phillip sat down on the couch next to his wife, and wrapped his arms around her.  “Yes, let’s continue to celebrate the fact that I am as healthy as healthy can be.  But, Reinette, we have to look at the facts here.  This was sudden, so sudden, and I spent two weeks in the hospital.  What if something like this were to strike again.  I don’t expect it to, but I didn’t expect it to this time either.  We have to think ahead; we have to plan.  I need to know that if, God Forbid, I were gone, you would still be able to take care of everything.  Please, I know you don’t want to do this, but I need us to.  For me, can we plan this?”

Reinette considered fighting him a little longer.  The idea of spending a couple hours hashing out what she was going to do if her husband was dead seemed unbearable.   But he needed it, and he had said please. “Okay.  But get the tissues.  I’m going to cry all the way through this.”

Phillip kissed her gently, “That’s fair enough.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 14, 2016 in Stories

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
