RSS

Fiction: Good Morning (311 words)

10 May

Lucinda woke up to a crash and swearing.  It wasn’t the most pleasant way to wake up, if she were to say so herself.  She sat up in bed, and saw Elijah, her boyfriend—No, fiancé, now, she had to remember that—kneeling by the door, scrubbing at what appeared to be orange juice on the carpet.  Sitting next to him was a tray covered with plates, cups, and a scrambled mess of breakfast food all piled up.

“What are you doing?” Lucinda asked.

Elijah looked up, like a kid trying to sneak out of house after curfew. “Nothing.”  Lucinda turned her head to the side and gave him a skeptical look. “I was trying to bring you breakfast in bed. I tripped.  Don’t worry, I’ll get it all cleaned up.”

Lucinda rolled over on her stomach, laying on the edge of the bed to watch him keep cleaning up.  “I’ve already said yes, you know. You don’t have to keep sucking up.”

“Hmm. I think I do,”  Elijah teased, “I think I have to keep sucking up until the ‘I Do’s and the papers are all signed.  Then you have to get lawyers involved to leave me, and I just don’t think that I will be bad enough to make that worth it.”

“Oh, I don’t know about that,” Lucinda sighed, “You can be pretty bad when you put your mind to it.”

“Which is why I need to suck up all I can while I’m still in your good favor,” Elijah rationalized.

“Fair enough.” Lucinda swung herself out of bed, and stepped around him to the bathroom. “Get up everything that is going to stain, and then don’t worry about it.  We can go out to breakfast instead.  I’m too hungry to wait for you to make another.”

“Okay, fine.  But I’m paying.”  Elijah protested.

“Whatever you want, Honey.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 10, 2016 in Stories

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
