RSS

BEST OF: Best Kind of Love (285 words)

29 Mar

Originally Posted: January 9, 2014

Jackson weaved in between my legs as I wandered into the kitchen. I took small deliberate steps to make sure that I wasn’t going to squish him or step on anyone’s toes, literally. “Hey Momma.” He started.

“Yes, Jackson.”

“Will you tell the story of how you and Daddy met again?”

“You know I don’t remember how Daddy and I met. We were children, babies even. Younger than you and Stevie are now.”

“What about the story that you always tell Stevie?”

“I tell Stevie the story about when Daddy and I fell in love. That was very different then when we met.”

“So, it wasn’t love at first sight then, Momma?”

“No, sweetheart, it wasn’t love at first sight.”

“But isn’t that the best kind of love? That’s what Jamie said at school.”

“Well, I guess that’s Jamie’s opinion isn’t it? But, no, I don’t think that’s the best kind of love.”

“Well, then what is the best kind of love, Momma?”

“I think that the best kind of love is any kind of love that you can feel. I think that the best kind of love for me is the love for your father, love for you, love for little Stevie. Those are the best kinds of love.”

“So, my best kind of love is for you and Daddy and Stevie.”

“Yep. Those are the best kinds of love.”

“And the love for Andrea.”

“Yes–Wait. Jackson. Who is Andrea?” Jackson began to giggle and sprinted out of the room. I forgot all about making dinner in favor of chasing my six-year-old out of the room. “Jackson Roderick, you get back here right now and tell me who is Andrea!”

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
