RSS

Fiction:Waking Up (285 words)

05 Jan

Don’t be afraid.  I know that you’re confused right now, and you’re brain is searching for memories that aren’t there and that’s more than disorientating, but you need to try to just take deep breaths and focus on my voice.  There you go, that’s it. Slow breaths.  In and out. In and out.  You’ve got it.

My name is Dr. Andrew McNamara.  Do you remember your name?  It’s okay, it will come back to you a little bit.  Most of it should anyway.  You probably won’t remember some of your more recent memories.  You’ve had quite  trauma, and your brain will try to protect itself by forgetting the actual moment of trauma, and it always over shoots at least a little, getting rid of a little more than it should.  I call it the “rather be safe than sorry” reaction of the brain.   But we’re confident that most of it will come back.

Now, can you tell me if you can remember anything?  Emma? Yes, Emma is your name.  Very good, see, just like I said, it’s going to start coming back to you in bits and pieces here.   Very good.  Just try to stay calm and keep thinking.  Try to remember that panicking or getting frustrated with yourself is going to be more of hindrance than a help for you.

I’m going to go ahead and head out if you’re feeling okay at the moment.  I’ve got a couple other patients I’ve got to see.  But, this button here will call in Nurse Izzy for you, and she has my personal number. If you need anything at all, I’ll be here faster than you could imagine.   Sounds good, Emma?  Excellent.  I’ll see you later.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 5, 2016 in Stories

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
