RSS

Fiction: When? (515 words)

17 Dec

“Okay, Tapping, Give it to me straight. When did this all start?” Cameron charged into Andrew’s lab, where he was hard at work translating a new tablet.

“November 3rd, 1994.”

“Really?” Cameron was amazed by how early that was.  This would have been right at the beginning of the project.  Had Natalie even been involved then?

“Well, since you charged into my lab without any kind of stipulations on what you were asking me about, I was assuming you meant when my work in this lab started, and excluding a couple years living on a different planet, that began November 3rd, 1994.” Andrew continued to study the tablet.

“Tapping, why would I want to know about how long you have been working in this lab?”

“I don’t know, but until you give me more than ‘when did this all start’ how do you expect me to answer you properly?” Andrew finally set the tablet down and stared up at Cameron.

“The thing between Natalie and James! When did that all start?”

“Do you mean how long have they been dating? Because I think they have an anniversary coming up…”

“No…I mean the whole thing! When did it start?”

“A while ago. It’s been going on longer than either of them will admit. Actually, I’m the only one who could admit it…they are bound by regs, and Trevor…is well, Trevor…so he’s not likely to say anything.”

“You mean they’ve had a relationship while the Military and Civilians weren’t allowed to be involved?!”

“What kind of a question is that? Of course they’ve had a relationship. I had a relationship with both of them as well. Want to get upset about that?”

“You know what I mean, Tapping.”

“No, they wouldn’t dare break regs, but they had crushes that they tried to avoid.”

“Well, When did those crushes start?”

“Hmm…now that is a question. I’ve got a couple of guesses, but I don’t know. He did get pissed and say that “she wasn’t mine to care about” when we were affected by that drug thing. So did he have the crush before that? I know Natalie was physically attracted to him because of his strength, and I suppose seeing her in that tank top wouldn’t have helped if he already had some little thing growing, but could he have really liked her that much already?”

“Tapping…”

“That was only a month or so after Natalie joined The Project…but I guess when Ethan makes up his mind, he does it quickly.”

“Andrew…This isn’t helping me you know.”

“Sorry, Cam, I can’t tell you when it started…I don’t know….Just suffice it to say it started a long, long time ago, and you are really slow for missing it as long as you did.”

“Thanks, Andrew, loads of help you were.”

“If you really want to know, ask one of them, and leave me out of it.” Andrew picked his tablet back up and got back to work. Cameron opened his mouth to argue, but thought better of it and turned on his heel, heading back out of the lab.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 17, 2015 in Stories

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
