RSS

Fiction: Lonely (251 words)

13 Oct

Of course I am happy for them. They are my best friends, and they are so happy together.  I’d have to be a cruel heart to not be happy for their happiness.

And when the three of us are together—it’s like nothing’s ever changed.  I mean, maybe they sit a little bit closer together than they would have before, but I don’t feel like a third wheel on date night.  It feels like we’re still three best friends, reveling in each other’s company, as happy as can be.  And I love them for that.

But, it’s when I know they are alone together that it settles heave in my stomach.  When I lay alone in my bed and I know that they are together in their own apartment, making memories and jokes and lovely moments that I will never, can never been a part of.  And that hurts.  That hurts more than I will ever be able to explain or even really have the right to feel.  And I don’t know what can be done about that.

So, what else am I supposed to do?  I’ve just got to find a way to make it go away, or barring that, find a way to suck it up.  Because I wouldn’t dare wish against their happiness in any way.  I just wish there was a simple way that they could be happy, and I didn’t have to be left out. But there is no such thing as an easy answer here.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 13, 2015 in Stories

 

Leave a Reply

 
