RSS

Fiction: Family Road Trip (854 words)

08 Sep

“Do we have absolutely everything?” Ally was pacing across the living room, checking her bags, checking my bags, checking the closet, and checking the bookshelves.

“We have absolutely everything.  We’ve had absolutely everything packed for an hour now.  Please, for the love of all things good and holy, sit down.  You are making me anxious.”  Ally say down on the couch next to me, practically wringing her hands.

“Twelve days is a long time, Liz.  I don’t want to be stuck in a foreign country for twelve days without everything we need.”

I couldn’t help but laugh at my little sister.  “Ally, we are going to Canada to visit our Godmother, not the African wilderness to fight lions. I am sure we have everything we need, and if we do forget something, I’m pretty sure anything we need is still sold in Canada.”

Ally let out a sharp puff of air through her lips, and the folded her arms over her chest.  Sometimes, you wouldn’t guess that we had grown up to twenty three and nineteen years old, because we tended to act like we were still fourteen and ten.

“I don’t know,” Our roommate, Cassandra, wandered in from the kitchen, “you do need a passport to get into Canada now.”

“Just because you need a passport does not mean you cannot buy toothpaste.” I responded, “And I’d thank you very much to not contribute to the freaking out of my little sister, if you do not mind.”  Cassandra smiled smugly at me, and I was more than excited to get away from the townhouse for a little while.

Originally, it seemed like a great plan.  In the same year, my sister got accepted as an undergrad at Spooner University and my childhood friend, Cassandra, and I got accepted as Master of Fine Arts students at the same.  Our father agreed that if I let Ally move in with Cassandra and I so that Father wouldn’t have to pay the schools lofty room and board, then he would pay for Ally and my two-thirds of the rent. So, that was pretty much a no brainer.  However, I was now a solid semester in to my Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing, living with my baby sister again after four years apart and adding my best friend into that mix was starting to grate on my nerves.  So this vacation to visit my Godmother for the first half of Christmas break was a well welcomed relief.

All of a sudden we heard ‘shave and a haircut’ in the beep of a car horn.  Instantly, Ally’s concern melted off her face.  “Jay!”  She exclaimed happily, and darted out the front door.  I rolled my eyes, but couldn’t help but smile as well.  I slipped as many bags as I could onto my arms, and asked Cassandra to grab the rest.  I followed my sister out the front door to see her hugging the young man outside as tightly as she could.

Jay was the opposite of me in almost every way.  He was a solid six inches taller than I was, and was much broader in frame.  His eyes were as bright blue as possible, and mine were a dark brown.  His hair was a curly as mine was straight, even though it was the exact same shade of light, almost red, brown.  No one would ever guess by looking at us that we were twins.

“Well, well, Eliza Faye.”  Jay let go of the tight hug that Ally was desperately trying to keep him in. “One semester of English Graduate School under your belt.  Are you completely pretentious and stuck up yet?”

“Well, well, James Matthew,” I walked towards the car, and dumped the bags I was carrying into the open trunk, “One semester of Med School under your belt.  Have you given up from exhaustion yet?”

Jay grinned at me and then pulled me into the tightest hug I had received in months.  “Oh, I’ve missed you so much, Liz.”

“You have no idea what missing someone is, Jay.”  No matter how long we lived apart, it was still wonderful to see him again.

“Hey, Jay.”  Cassandra smiled, coming up behind me and dropping the remaining bags into the car behind us.

“Hello, Cassie.  Are you looking forward to having the house to yourself for a little while?”  Jay answered, still keeping an arm around me and refusing to let go.

“You have absolutely no idea.  I don’t know how you lived with the two of them for a full eighteen years.  I would have gone absolutely crazy.”

“Yes, well, I suppose I am just made from stronger stuff than you are, Cassie.” Jay laughed.

“I’ll eagerly admit to that.  Now get them out of my sight, and I don’t want to see any of you again until after the New Year.” Cassandra tried to shoo off our attempt at good-bye hugs, but with all three Kyles against her, she didn’t stand a chance.  After a group hug of ridiculous length, Jay, Ally, and I piled into the car, and we were off.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 8, 2015 in Stories

 

Leave a Reply

 
