RSS

Fiction: Created (673 words)

31 Jul

“I can’t exist.  Can I? I mean–I am impossible.  I couldn’t be just a random happenstance.  The odds are nonexistent.  I was created, wasn’t I?” Bryna looked up at Morgan, and suddenly he couldn’t meet her eye.  “I was. I was created.  I was designed.  Wow. I shouldn’t exist.  Isn’t that fun?”

Morgan found his voice. “Bryna. It’s not like that.”

“But it is like that, isn’t it?  It’s exactly like that.  I was designed, and I–well, I can’t have been designed for good, huh? I mean. Look at me, Morgan–“. Bryna threw her arms out to the side, and glasses exploded around her. Morgan flinched, but didn’t step away.  “I can’t have meant to be a force for good.  I was designed to do something bad.  And you were sent to keep me in check. You were so determined to keep me from learning all I could do because I am supposed to destroy something, everything, I guess.  And now what? You’ve failed?  Do you have to die now?  Do I have to die now? Because you don’t want to fight me, Morgan.  I’ll win.  I was made this way for reason. No matter what else, I’m sure I was designed to win.”

“Will you be quiet for half a second?” Morgan’s voice was quiet.  Bryna, even with her new-found information and insane desire for power and confusion as for what was going on at the moment, was suddenly afraid.  When Morgan got quiet, he got scary.  New found power or not, Bryna was terrified of quiet Morgan.  “Now. You understand that I don’t have all the answers.  I was only five years old when you were born. I was most certainly not involved with this from the beginning.  Just as you were genetically designed, I have been groomed since I was a child.  I have been told a lot, and I will repeat that all to you now, but I am only aware of what they want me to know.  I will not die.  And if I have any say in it, neither will you.  Do we have an understanding?”

Bryna just stood for a second, blinking. She sank slowly back into her chair.  She covered her mouth with her hand, barely containing a sob.  Then she was crying.  Really crying. She buried her face in her hands and shook with the force of her crying. Without even thinking about it, Morgan rushed forward and wrapped his arms around her, holding her as tightly as he could.  It felt like they sat there for ages, but in reality, it was maybe ten minutes, fifteen most before she sat up of her own volition, unshaken. Morgan stopped squeezing her, but didn’t break contact, his hand still resting on her left shoulder.

“Do I want to know?  Do I want you to tell me?” Bryna asked.

“It’s not going to be easy to hear, and there are certainly going to be parts that you don’t like–but is that enough to prevent you from actually wanting to know? Your decision.”

Bryna reached up and placed both of her hands on top of Morgan’s.  “Can we not do it now? I mean, I think it will just be too much to do it right now.”

“Okay, sure.  We can do it whenever you want.”

“Can I be alone for a bit? Just to wrap my head around everything?”

Morgan looked pained for a second, “Uh, no, I can’t leave you alone now that you know. I don’t believe that you are the kind of person who would want to do harm, but if you did, well–it’s my job to make sure that you don’t. I’ve got to keep my eye on you.”

“This is really not going to end well for you.  You know that, right?”

“Probably, yes, but don’t count me out from the start, Bryna. I’m pretty strong myself, and I’ve had my fair share of training.”  Bryna nodded, not voicing aloud how little good she thought his training would do him.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 31, 2015 in Stories

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
