RSS

Fiction: Kick Out (790 words)

25 May

“You promised–you little fucker, you promised.”  Michelle wanted to throw something–but she knew that breaking something in this apartment would hurt her more than it would hurt him.  Almost everything in it was hers. Maybe she should have taken that as a sign. “Why, huh? Why could you have given me a ten second phone call to say we were through before you fucked her, huh?”

“It’s not like that, Chell, I didn’t expect it to happen.  I didn’t know it was going to happen.  I didn’t want to lose you.”  Alex was smart enough to stay on the opposite side of the Kitchen Island, but he did lean towards her.  “It didn’t mean anything.  It was an accident.”

Michelle laughed, although she wasn’t sure why. She must have been bordering on hysterical.  “You don’t accidentally fuck someone, Alex.  Someone can shock you with a kiss–or you can get groped or accidentally grope in a crowded party, but you don’t accidentally fuck someone.  It’s just not possible.”

“Please, Michelle, please.  I know I made a mistake.  But it meant nothing, she meant nothing.  You’re special.  I don’t want to lose you.”

That was the second time he’d said that, and Michelle just shook her head in disbelief. “You don’t get it Alex.  I’m gone.  You lost me the second that you fucked her.  All I asked was that you don’t cheat on me.  That was literally my only rule, and you broke it.  We’re done. All that’s left is deciding who gets what and whether or not we’re selling the apartment.  I’m done with you.”

“No,” Alex moved around the Island so fast that Michelle barely had the chance to take a step. He ended up trapping her in the corner next to the sink.  “No, Michelle, please, we can’t be over.  I’m begging you.”

“Back up, Alex.”  Michelle wasn’t hysterical anymore.  Her mind was now crystal clear. “Alex, back up now.”

“Not until you give me another chance.” Alex stepped forward and grabbed her upper arms, holding her fast and hard.  “Michelle, please give me another chance.”

“Let go.” Michelle said as levelly as she could, reaching slowly for a fork on the counter.

“Michelle.” Alex gave her a little shake, and she gasped in pain as her back was pressed hard into the handle of the silver ware drawer.  Alex let her go immediately, backed up a few steps. “I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to hurt you.”

Michelle grabbed the fork firmly, prepared to go for the eye if he came near her again. “Get out. Get out now and don’t come back.”

Alex started as if he was going to say something but then seemed to think better of it.  He turned and headed out of the kitchen.  Michelle stayed perfectly still until she heart the front door open and close.

She crossed the kitchen and grabbed a knife out of the block before she went out into the rest of the apartment to make sure he’d actually left.  After checking out the window to make sure that Alex’s car was gone, Michelle went around locking all the doors and windows.  It was amazing the difference a few minutes made.  She went from angry to absolutely terrified.  She’d never been afraid of him before–not like this.

She didn’t even realize that she’d gone for her phone until she heard Adam’s voice saying “Hello? Michelle? It’s almost midnight.”  Adam was one of her best friends–an all-around good guy. She knew he’d be there for her.  It also didn’t hurt that he was six foot four and she’d seen him pick up a drunk Alex and throw him over his shoulder like it was nothing.  “Michelle? Are you there?”

“Adam?” Michelle’s voice cracked, and she realized that she was closed to tears.

“Michelle? Are you okay? Can you hear me?”  Adam sounded a little frantic.

“Alex and I got into a fight. I kicked him out.  I’m afraid he’s going to come back.”  Michelle’s voice was shaking.

“I’m coming.” Adam said, he voice sounded slightly muffled, the way it did when he held the phone in place with his shoulder so that he could do something with his hands. “Do you want me to stay with you or do you want me to bring you back here?”

“I don’t know what he’ll do to the place if he comes back and finds the place empty.”  Michelle admitted quietly.

“Alright.  I’ll bring a bag. I’ll stay as long as you want me to.” Adam reassured her, “It’ll be okay.  I’ll be there in fifteen minutes.”

“Adam?”

“Yes?”

“Don’t hang up the phone.” She wasn’t even ashamed of the fact that she was practically pleading

“I won’t,” he reassured her, “I won’t.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 25, 2015 in Stories

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
