RSS

Fiction: Morning Coffee (511 words)

13 Apr

I remember the first time I woke up next to him.  We’d been seeing each other for a few months and having sex for weeks, but we’d been busy or hectic or even, let’s be honest, secretive about the whole thing.  We’d found the time for dates and alone time, but we didn’t have a whole night to just veg out, or a morning where we’d both have the chance to sleep in—until then.

We stayed at his place because he lived alone and I had roommates.  Besides, his place was way cooler than mine.  It was a good idea because we felt free to just be us and be relaxed in our first night together.  We stayed up late and decided to not to set an alarm for the morning.  We fell asleep watching something stupid on a comedy channel.

I’m not sure who woke up first, but as we started to move it woke the other up a little bit more.  When I opened my eyes, he was clearly awake but he still had his eyes shut.  He burrowed his head a little against the pillow before muttering, “Is it bright? If I open my eyes right now, will it be bright?”

“Brighter than if you keep your eyes shut, yes, but I still don’t know where your coffee mugs are, so you’re going to have to open your eyes sooner rather than later.”

He kept his eyes shut and blindly reached for my waist.  When he found me, he pulled me in close, and with amazing accuracy for a man with his eyes closed, kissed me softly along the jaw and down my neck.  “Who needs coffee,” he murmured against my skin between kisses, “when you can stay in bed all day?”

“The caffeine addict in me needs coffee, before the headache kicks in.  After coffee, we can stay I bed all day if you want,” I laughed, but let him hold me by the waist and even snuggled into his embrace a little more.

He sighed, like he wasn’t just as addicted to his coffee as I was.  “Fine.  We’ll get you your coffee, and maybe a cup for me too.” He kissed a spot on my collarbone, before pulling away a little, “but I’m holding you to that crawling back into bed for almost all of the rest of the day thing.”

“I can live with that,” I sighed, starting to miss being in his arms already.  Wasn’t the honeymoon period pretty fantastic?

He let a huge puff of air out of his mouth and finally opened his eyes.  He blinked a few times before finally focusing on my face.  “Oh, hello there.”

“Hi,” I grinned.

“You know what?” He smiled, not breaking eye contact even as he kicked blankets away from us, “Yu make it worth it.”

“What? Getting up for coffee?”

“Nope.” He finally pulled himself up into a sitting position and swung his legs off the bed. “Opening my eyes in the morning.  Seeing you makes me wish I had done it earlier.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 13, 2015 in Stories

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
