RSS

Fiction: Waking Up (224 words)

26 Jan

“Hey you.”  Hana sat up a little straighter, “My very own big honorable Kings Guard.  They say you brought me home. Saved my life they say.”

“I wouldn’t have had to save you if I hadn’t left you in the first place.  You can’t save someone from a danger you caused.”  Conlyn answered smoothly.

Hana half scoffed, half laughed, and Conlyn thought it was actually the best sound that he’d ever heard in his entire life. “If you had been with me when it happened, we both would have been hurt and we would have died out there with no way to get back.  It’s a very good thing you weren’t there, Conlyn.”

“Have you been talking to Harlowe?”

“No. I haven’t seen her since I woke up. Why?”

“It’s just–she said something very similar to me earlier.”

“Well, we are both very intelligent women.  It is possible that we came to the same correct conclusion independently of each other.  We do have that ability you know.”

Conlyn smiled, and sat carefully at the edge of the couch, making sure to avoid her feet.  “Well, I’m just glad to see you up again, Hana.  You really had us worried there for a while.”

“Don’t you worry, Conlyn. I’ll be around to annoy you for ages to come yet.  And I’m making that a promise.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 26, 2015 in Stories

 

Leave a Reply

 
