RSS

Fiction: You, Me, and Karma [Part 5] (684 words)

27 Dec

Being only four in the theatre, we all felt free to add our own running commentary as the movie went on.  All in all, it was the most fun I had in a movie in a very long time. As the credits started to roll, I skipped down to where Zach and Amanda were both collecting their things.

“That was fun.”  Zach said.

“Most fun I’ve had in ages.”  Amanda added.

“I think fate has made good friends of us.”  I grinned.

“Indeed,” Zach answered. “Listen, Amanda and I were going to head out to dinner.  Would you and your brother care to join us?”

“That depends. Where are you going?”

“The Virginia Steak House. It’s right off Laskin Road.”

“You are an angel of a man. That’s my favorite restaurant in the city,” I answered,

“Mine too!” Zach’s sister spoke up, “Zach thinks it just alright, but he’s a push over when it comes to me.”

“That’s a sister’s power. Quite convenient, eh?”

“What’s a sister’s power?” Adrian asked, finally coming down the stairs at a more normal pace than I had.

“Nothing. You want to go to the Steak House?” I asked.

Adrian looked at me quizzically and said something strange.  It took me a moment to translate, because I was not used to Adrian using the language so blatantly in front of other people anymore. We’d long outgrown trying to confuse people. Where do you know this guy from?

I’ve met him a couple of times.  He’s a cool guy.  Steak house?”

“What language is that?” Amanda asked.

“Hmm? Oh.  It’s something we made up when we were very young. Sorry.”

“No. That’s awesome! Why didn’t we do something cool like that when we were little?”  Amanda smacked her brother’s arm.

“Because I am simply not that cool.” Zach answered, “So will we see you at Dinner?”

“Yup. We’ll meet you there.”

 

It wasn’t until I was in the car with Adrian that I realized how potentially awkward this whole evening was about to become.   I mean, I had just invited a man who I had only met three times, with two of those instances involving dumping stuff on each other, and the third had mostly involved me sleeping in the chair next to his.  And now we were heading out to dinner, each of us with a sibling in tow.  I mean, what did I really know about this guy?  I knew that he had a girlfriend.  I knew he had a coffee habit he was trying to kick.  I know we had similar tastes in movies, or at least, in that particular movie.  That really wasn’t very much to go on, was it?  For all I knew, he could be some kind of really creepy stalker.   You know—with a teenage girl accomplice.  That kind of thing happened all the time, right?

“We’re not standing them up.”  Adrian said suddenly.

“What?”

“You’ve over thinking things. We’re going to the Steakhouse.”

“Why are you so gung ho about meeting this guy?”

“I’m gung ho about you getting out of the house, about you meeting new people. About occasionally getting out of your comfort zone.  Besides, if we went home and told this story to Melissa, can you just imagine?  I mean.  Really, we’d never hear the end of it, you for chickening out and me for allowing you.  No, I won’t have it.  We’re not standing them up.”

I guess I made some kind of face in response, because Adrian laughed.  “Come on, don’t be such a chicken shit.  Come on, I mean, really. What is the worst that can happen? We have a terrible dinner and a new story to tell when we go to the family reunion.”

“I guess you’re right.”

“Damn straight I’m right. Besides, I was promised a steak. I want my steak.”

I rolled my eyes.  My brother was actually a rather predictable creature when all things were considered.

I resigned myself to the plans I had created and doubted within a matter of minutes.  Worse comes to worse, I would still have a delicious dinner.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 27, 2014 in You Me and Karma

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
