RSS

Fiction: Upset (566 words)

09 Aug

Maggie sank down onto the couch, her hands completely covering her face.  It was too silent for her being able to be actually crying, but he could feel the tension in the air that meant she’d be crying soon.  Maggie was over stressed, and this time there was no Daniel in sight to make it all better.  This time, Daniel was the main cause. Arthur had to handle this himself, or perhaps just stand by and watch her cry on her own.  Both options seemed equally terrifying to him at the moment.

Daniel had promised Arthur that when this moment came, when Arthur had to help Maggie, Arthur would know what to do.  “It’ll come to you,” Daniel had promised, “Like magic, you’ll understand what she needs from you. She has that effect on people, and you should be especially receptive to it.” But Arthur didn’t know.  He was completely at a loss for what to do.  So, he did the only thing he could think to do.

He knelt down in front of the couch, and put his hands gently on her knees. “I don’t know what to do.” He said simply.  Maggie lowered her hands just enough so that she could look him in the eye.  “I don’t know what to do, Maggie. I can see that you’re upset. I’d have to be blind to not see that you’re upset. I want to make it better. But I don’t know what to do.” Maggie’s hands fell away from her face, and Arthur continued to look her right in the eye.  “Tell me what to do. Maggie, what can I do to help you?”

Maggie reached forward, carefully cradling Arthur’s face in-between her hands.  She leaned in to kiss him, a soft, gentle kiss right on the lips. “Oh, King.”  She whispered.

“I love you, Maggie.”  He didn’t mean to say it. It just blurted out. He’d thought it for a long time, but he didn’t want to scare her, or push her away, or—but she was smiling. It was a small smile, and she still looked kind of like she was half a breath away from crying, but it was a smile.  She leaned forward and kissed him again, a little bit longer this time, a little more forcefully. When she pulled away, he started, “Maggie, Are–”

“Take me to bed.” Arthur stared at her for a second, and Maggie had to laugh at the look on his face. “Come on, King. Don’t you won’t to? I want you to.”

“Yes. Yes, I want to.” Arthur blurted out again, a knee jerk reaction, half a moan, before he could stop himself again, “But. You’re upset, aren’t you? I don’t want you to do something you regret because you’re upset.”

“I was upset.  You fixed it.” She kissed him gently again, just like the first time. “And this is something that I’ve wanted to do for a long time, I’ve just never had the balls to ask you before now. But you love me, you said so yourself, so please, Arthur, take me to bed.”

She’d said Arthur. It was the first time she’d used his real name. It was the first time he’d hear her use anyone’s real name. That was a declaration of love if he ever heard it.  He picked her up carefully, and made his way up the stairs to her bedroom.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 9, 2014 in Maggie's Stories

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
